Where to get started with plugin development?

Does anyone have pointers for a good place to start for plugin development? I previously had apps working with the bot integration and apps integrations, but I’m working through the apps deprecation.

I’m a seasoned developer so can figure most things out but I’m looking for an example plugin which works out of the box to get started with.

I started with the docs on this page: Developer workflow and the mattermost-plugin-starter-tempate. Fails to build with make all, looks like this builds with a much older version of Node than I have installed (v14? vs v18), that’s functionality which was deprecated following security issues, so I guess this is old tech.

Module build failed (from ./node_modules/babel-loader/lib/index.js):
Error: error:0308010C:digital envelope routines::unsupported

Then, tried the much simpler server plugin quickstart here: Plugin quick start

Arrived at dependency problems, immediately:

go: github.com/francoispqt/gojay@v1.2.13 requires
	cloud.google.com/go@v0.37.0 requires
	golang.org/x/build@v0.0.0-20190111050920-041ab4dc3f9d requires
	sourcegraph.com/sourcegraph/go-diff@v0.5.0: unrecognized import path "sourcegraph.com/sourcegraph/go-diff": reading https://sourcegraph.com/sourcegraph/go-diff?go-get=1: 404 Not Found

I’m guessing I need to find out exactly what version of Windows/Ubuntu the above things were built with?

1 Like

Hello cybermaggedon,

Great to see your interest in Mattermost plugin development!

First, I want to acknowledge that these initial errors can be frustrating. Problems with versions and dependencies can indeed make the initial stage a bit daunting. But I’m here to help, and together we’ll navigate through it!