API endpoit of opening dialog vs submitting dialog

Hello Mattermost community,
i’m new to mattermost, so i’m struggling with the documentation of Interactive dialogs.
i’m using django, and i’m trying to open a dialog in a mattermost channel using slash command, i succeded in that, but the problem is when the user submit the fields of the dialog, how can it be done? knowing that opening dialog and submitting it, have differents endpoint!
submit uses: http://your-mattermost-url.com/api/v4/actions/dialogs/submit
opening uses: http://your-mattermost-url.com/api/v4/actions/dialogs/open

what 's the best way so that when i click on submit of the dialog, the values of the field got saved for example or displaying those informations as message in that channel?

Hello eliot_jo,

Welcome to the Mattermost community! Great to have you here.

Your question is a common one, so don’t worry. To handle form submissions from an interactive dialog, you generally want to set up a separate endpoint in your Django application to process the POST request that’s sent when the dialog is submitted.

The submit_dialog request, upon interactions like a user submitting the dialog or dropdown select, sends a POST request to the callback_url that you specified when opening the dialog.

Here’s a short example in pseudo code -

When you open the dialog, you define a dialog object like so:

Python

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

dialog = { "callback_id": "somecallbackid", "url": "https://your-django-app.com/process-dialog", "title": "Dialog Title", "elements": [ { "type": "text", "name": "input_field_1", "label": "Input Field 1", }, ], "submit_label": "Submit", "notify_on_cancel": False, }

Notice the url field in dialog, that’s where you’d put the endpoint in your Django application that you want Mattermost to send the POST request to when the dialog is submitted.

Then in your Django app, handle this at the endpoint process-dialog:

Python