Full Text Search

I am curious to know why you have chosen to use mysql or postgres full text search rather than using a product/library meant for full text search (like elasticsearch/solr/lucene)

I have no direct experience of using mysql or pgsql full text search and would be interested to know how that works once you have millions of messages in the database.

@aga_sumit, long term an option to use something like Lucene makes sense and we have a team member who used it extensively in a previous role working with Stanford Research Institute. The trade-off is that it’s not as well understood by the IT professional community as MySQL or Postgres

I am thinking more from a performance perspective, how well does MySQL or Postgres work with hundreds of users actively creating messages for year.

Hello all! I honestly believe that the current search implementation in Mattermost is useless in most real life cases, e.g. searching in any language, searching for bug number mentioned via url to a bug tracker, searching for a word part.
It is clear that mature software accumulating a lot of UGC must have a powerful tool to bring those data back to user.

@it33 you are right Lucene or Elastic Search addition will make the installation process a bit of a pain in a test environments especially. By the way it is crucial to provide an easy way to try Mattermost inside any infrastructure to be able to spread it widely.

Would you like to collaborate on this may be? I believe that we like the way Matetrmost works for us. But the search is a real blocker now.

Thank you and keep up the good work!

Hi lig, thanks for the feedback and the offer to help as well,

Personally, I use search almost daily and it works well for me. Maybe I’m biased having been involved with the design though. E.g. if you want to find part of a word, like hair you can type hair* to find haircut and hairy.

Some of what you’re describing might be just usability improvements to add perhaps?