Role and Password changed during import

After importing my slack files, 2 things happened. 1. it downgraded my account from System Admin to team admin so I can no longer access the dashboard and 2. it changed my password but I’m not sure what it changed the password to. I assume it changed it to my slack password but I login to slack using my google login so I have no clue what it would have changed it to

Is there any way I can get back in and change my role or am I SOL? There wasn’t anything particularly important on there that can’t be recovered but I’d rather not have to start over again. I’m hosting it myself in a docker container on my Unraid server so I have access to the config files and such.
If I am SOL and just have to start over what can I do differently to make sure it doesn’t lock me out again? I am a team admin on the slack channel, what role would I need to have to ensure when importing mattermost doesn’t change me to a plain admin and keep me as a system admin?

It is a shame no one answered you quicker.

I just had the same exact issue and found a solution.

Here is how you need to do this:

1. Setup your Mattermost container
  2. Create your initial user when you first login
  3. Create an additional super-admin user (with a username not used in your Slack accounts that you will be importing).

To do this use the mmctl tool from Mattermost.
Here are the two commands:
mmctl auth login https://yourmattermostinstance.com

mmctl user create --email whateveremail@whatever.com --username yournewusername --password thepasswordfortheuser --system-admin

1. Setup Email Functionality in your Mattermost Instance
  2. Create a Mattermost workspace with an identical name to your old Slack workspace
  3. Import your Slack backup:

mmctl import upload your-exported-file-from-slack.zip

mmctl import list available
(note the new zip file name)

mmctl import process [inset the name from above step]