HipChat to Mattermost Migration

Hi, everyone.

I would like to gather information on how you migrate your HipChat instance to Mattermost (tools, roadblocks, suggestions). I came across these so far.

Can you share any other tools that you may have tested successfully and your story / article here? For example, Normalize HipChat usernames article that was written by @jby is really helpful for admins who may run into issues with the usernames.

Thank you.

2 Likes

Does anyone recommend one tool over another? I cant seem to get any of them to work. I am currently trying to see where I went wrong with migratemost as I have never used python before.

@Brownr Can you help share more information on the issue(s) you hit when trying Migratemost?

2 Likes

@jasonblais Thanks for the reply, for some reason I can only get the users, and it only produces users when I use the –concat-output function.

If I use –migrate-all it will not produce a mm_users.jsonl, however I get over 200 mm_channel_posts_xxx.jsonl entries, along with mm_channels.jsonl,mm_team.jsonl, channels_to_archice.txt and users_to_deactivate.txt.

I have successfully imported users and am not sure how I am going to tackle the 200+ files that need to be individually imported, any input is appreciated.

**Also if I add --migrate-all after --concat-output, it seems to ignore --concat-output

Not sure if this is normal or helps but when I run the migratemost tool, the bulk of the feedback is as seen below. I have not been far enough to see how this effects the new server.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

To help any other newbies that may scroll through here in the fututre, I would like to note that you have to type python before the migratemost.py command for example (sudo python migratemost.py -t “teamname” -o “outputfolder” -i “inputfolder” --concat-output)

Hello, @Brownr